In association with the Quays Newry.

Newry Town Hall Nightly AT 8.00 pm.


Newry Drama Festival Committee met recently in the Canal Court Hotel to select the Plays which will comprise the 2014 Festival. Maureen Grant told the Reporter that it had been a long and exciting  meeting due to the fact that the committee received sixteen entries for the nine-night Festival  –  many of them from the “creme de la creme”of Amateur Drama Societies from North and South of the Border.

Chairman, Gerry McNulty, expressed his delight at the number of entries received and the heavy emphasis on Comedy.

After lengthy deliberations, it was agreed to extend the Festival to ten nights to facilitate one more Drama Group.

Theatre – goers will note that the 2014 Programme is mainly comedy and should provide many nights of fun and light entertainment.

Season ticket – holders will (this year) receive excellent value for money with each night’s performance costing only £4 – Season tickets  £40 for ten nights.

The Programme of Plays is as Follows:-

Thurs. 20th MarchBart Players BelfastThe Dining RoomA R Gurney
Fri. 21 MarchInsight Theatre Company CelbridgeBlood RelationsSharon Pollock
Sat. 22 March The Moat Club NaasThe Steward of ChristendomSebastian Barry
Sun. 23 MarchLetterkenny Music and Drama Club Chronicles of Long KeshMartin Lynch
Mon. 24 MarchRosemary Drama GroupThe Man Who Came To DinnerMoss Hart George S Kaufman
Tues. 25 MarchNewpoint Players NewryFrankenstein (a new adaptation)Sean Treanor
Wed. 26 MarchDundalk Theatre WorkshopThe Winslow BoyTerence Rattigan
Thurs. 27 MarchHolywood PlayersBedroom FarceAlan Ayckbourn
Fri. 28 MarchProsperous Dramatic Society KildareBoeing BoeingMarc Camoletti
Sat. 29 MarchThe Clarence Players BelfastPlay On!Rick Abbott

The Adjudicator is Michael O’Hara who will be making a return visit to Newry. He last adjudicated the Festival in 2008 and audiences will recall his enlightening and entertaining public adjudications.

Curtain-up will be at 8pm. Doors open at 7.30pm.


For further information contact: Maureen Grant, 07764 859 631.

Email:  maureen.grant11@btinternet.com